The museum has undergone several stages in its development. The first impulses for its establishment date back to the late 19th century and are associated with the activities of the Industrial Educational and Support Society. The origins of the museum as such date back to 1904, when the first permanent exhibition was opened. In 1911, the museum acquired a building at 9 Školní Street. The resulting institution survived all the political turmoil of the following years.
In 1949, under its new name, the Art Industry Museum (Muzeum pro umělecký průmysl) moved to the former Zimmer & Schmidt export house in Jiráškova Street, now U Muzea Street, where it remains to this day. From 1953-1961, the museum was incorporated as a branch of the National Technical Museum in Prague, and in 1961 it came under the administration of the District National Committee in Jablonec nad Nisou, specialising in the history of glass and costume jewellery, which was reflected in the new name – the Museum of Glass and Jewellery. In the same year, the museum was granted national authority in the field of costume jewellery, and in the field of glass it was first granted regional authority, and national from 1977.
A major milestone in the museum’s history was 2003, when the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic became the patron of the museum as part of the reform of public administration on 1 January 2003. Subsequently, it was opened to the public after the completion of extensive refurbishment, with new exhibitions entitled The Magical World of Costume Jewellery (from 2014 under the title The Endless Story of Costume Jewellery) and The Enchanted Garden – Seven Centuries of Czech Glass.
In 2020, a unique extension in the shape of a cut-glass stone, designed by Prague architect Michal Hlaváček, was added to the main building. It was awarded Building of the Year 2020. In 2022, a permanent exhibition of Christmas decorations, World of Wonders, was opened to the public.
Since 1963, the museum has been maintaining the last surviving building of the former glassmaking settlement Kristiánov 52 (in the village of Bedřichov), where it houses the Glass Settlement Kristiánov permanent exhibition.
In addition, it operates two further buildings which are not public, serving as depositories and staff offices.
The Museum of Glass and Jewellery in Jablonec nad Nisou – THE ONLY ONE IN THE WORLD!
· Nowhere else in the world will you find a museum that covers the fields of glass and jewellery together.
· Nowhere else in the world will you find a collection of costume jewellery covering all materials and technologies.
· We have the second largest glass collection in the Czech Republic and one of the most important in Europe.
· We have the largest public collection of glass Christmas decorations in the world.
· The museum’s entire collection consists of 12 million unique items.
The museum is a public service provider pursuant to Act No. 122/2000 Coll. In its main building, which is open to the public all year round (subject to the current opening hours), it offers a selection of almost 12 million collected articles. These can be found in three permanent exhibitions: the Endless Story of Costume Jewellery, the Enchanted Garden – Seven Centuries of Czech Glass and the World of Miracles (Czech glass Christmas decorations).
During the summer months, the permanent exhibition of the Kristiánov Glass Settlement in the Jizera Mountains is open.
The museum's collections are registered in the Central Register of Collections and further registration and photographic documentation is ongoing. We operate a public library with a specialist academic and historical collection.
The main building provides wheelchair access and mobility for disabled visitors.
Detailed information about the public services provided and how to access them can be found elsewhere on the website.